Ranking WWE’s Current Championship Belt Designs

A championship belt should look the part. It should look cool and it should look like a prize. WWE has had some good and bad belt designs, but today I’m talking about the good ones. With WrestleMania approaching, there seems like no better time for me to talk some wrestling, so expect one or two more wrestling articles from me until then. With that said, here’s the ranking of WWE’s current belts.

#11: Cruiserweight Championship

001_CRUISERWEIGHT_09012016gd_0150_simp--f028f924135ba65d9554066d0b2f7ba3

A purple belt sounded cool on paper, but its execution feels somewhat tacky. In addition, the fact that the plate is mainly silver means that the globe and WWE logo aren’t that easy to see separately on this belt (not on this particular picture though, it’s worse on the belt on TV). Ugh.

#10: Universal Championship

universal belt.jpg

Too much red.

#9: United Kingdom Championship

uk belt

You probably didn’t even know this belt existed, but here it is. Defended in NXT, it has had only two titleholders. Like the Cruiserweight belt, there’s too much going on. The UK crest just doesn’t work in the WWE title template. It’s a shame, since I think it’s a cool idea for a belt design.

#8: Raw and SmackDown Tag Team Championships

tag belts
Twins!

Since the second brand split in 2016, their respective Tag Team and Women’s Divisions have their own prizes to fight for. Unfortunately, the tag belts leave a little to be desired. They just look less like championships and more like toys. What was wrong with the designs of the World Tag Team and WWE Tag Team Championships from the Ruthless Aggression Era?

WWE_World_Tag_Team_Championshipwwe-tag-team-championship

#7: NXT Mens’ and Womens’ Championships

nxt beltNXT_Womens_Championship--7b2017514159ed2bb95446b13dfdb052

The superstars of NXT have some neat belts to fight for. The shape of these belts is unlike any others in WWE. What else can I say, it just looks cool.

#6: NXT Tag Team Championship

nxt tag

The contrast of silver and gold works especially well here. A cool design around the NXT logo adds a real nice touch. Well played, people who designed this belt.

#5: Raw and SmackDown Women’s Championships

raw womens belt

smackdown womens belt
Twins!

After getting rid of the ugly and outdated Divas Championship, WWE made a statement by making the new Women’s Championship looks practically the same as the Men’s. That belt introduced at WrestleMania 32 would become the Raw Women’s Championship, and when the second brand split occurred, a SmackDown blue belt was introduced for the Women’s Division there. Personally, I prefer this one because of the nice contrast of the blue background with the WWE logo’s red stripe.

#4: WWE Championship

wwe championship

The company’s flagship belt has undergone several changes over the years, and while the current design isn’t as cool as the iconic Winged Eagle from the 1990’s, this one is still cool. The WWE logo really pops out, and I like the background as well. In addition, instead of a nameplate, it introduced custom side plates for whoever currently holds the belt, an element carried over to the Universal Championship and both Women’s Championships. Orange County Choppers made a really cool belt. I’m not kidding, they really did make it.

#3: NXT North American Championship (THIS PART WAS ADDED ON MAY 4, 2018)

nxtnabelt

That is one sexy belt. The maroon belt just looks classy and doesn’t distract like the Universal Championship does. The championship’s name should make it clear that the eponymous continent is going to be the focal point of it, and that combined with the globe effect in the background just looks cool. The silver and gold contrast, like that of the NXT Tag Team Championship, also looks great. Oh, and it also helps that this title’s introductory ladder match at NXT Takeover: New Orleans was one of the most exciting that I’ve ever seen.

#2: Intercontinental Championship

 

icbelt.jpg

This classic design, reintroduced by Cody Rhodes in 2011, is just great. The white strap and global design makes a championship worth competing for. If only WWE thought so, too.

#1: United States Championship

us belt

Just look at this beauty. One look at it, and you get it. The United States’ flag looks really good on a championship, and the font they chose for it is also perfect. It’s simply beautiful.

TWITTER: @M_American_C

WEEKLY WAVES

Thanks for reading! All photos from WWE.

Author: Chase Edwards

I'm Chase and I just write about what interests me. Games, music, sports, and oddities are most likely to be my hot topics.

3 thoughts on “Ranking WWE’s Current Championship Belt Designs”

  1. Unpopular opinion: the ruthless aggression Interocntinental belt is better….. but still a great article!

    Like

  2. Never even noticed the Statues of Liberties on the US title before. The IC is nice but I feel like they should change it up. Don’t leave it the white belt permanently

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a big fan of classic WWE belts and the heavyweight championship is what, I’m fond of. Was looking for some classic and trendiest collection, both online a few days ago and, I came across this amazing online store name ring belts. At first, their huge collection for WWE championship belts made me amazed. Also, they have a huge & trendiest collection for other wrestling tournaments such as IWGP, NWA, FTW, WWF, and much much more. Their range was huge enough that I felt a bit indecisive about my picks. However, I ended up buying more than I planned to. And, it was all worth it
    Their customer service is simply amazing. I actually got my order in hardly 3 days while they told me 5 working days an estimated time. This impressed me a lot. Also, I am in the awe of the product quality I have received. It’s simply wonderful and actually doesn’t give even a hint of being a replica or first copy. Everything was crafted with real perfection & gives me satisfaction that my money is not wasted.
    Hats of this online store, who actually made it easier for me to expand my collection for Replica Wrestling Belts.

    Like

Leave a comment